The Forest

A dense forest I walked through

Littered with sprouting shrooms

While the yellow sun was setting

This was the time I set a-trekking.

I listened in wonder

As I began to ponder

The songs of the forest kind.

A familiar verse sprang to mind

As the woodpecker drilled his beat

It was “The song of the golden seat”

And I whistled aloud the tune

Until, in the sky, hung the solemn moon.

It was then that I noticed a host

Of animals gathered/ Most

With their ears perked high.

I waved them a sad goodbye

And thence went on my way

Promising to return again another day.

Leave a Reply

