What I Have Become

She stood over me and screamed

how I wasn’t enough,

how I stuffed everything up,

how I needed to shut up.

 

Her tongue was two-pronged

Like a snakes’

As she slivered on,

All you do is take, take, take.

 

I sat in the corner of the room

Crouched and shaking.

A child, trapped in her nook.

As she treated me like a crook.

 

And I sat there feeling slapped

For everything I did lack.

So I worked to change,

So that I could make her proud.

 

And one day I was crowned.

But the town stood against me;

They no longer liked me

now that I was named Queen B.

 

And she smiled and said,

“I am proud of what you have become.”

Leave a Reply

